Cleantech

This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Home Language Selection



Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



Markets

From domestic to export markets

For many cleantech companies the Swiss market is too small. They have to market their products and services abroad. How great is the market potential? How well-positioned are cleantech products and services on export markets? How large is the domestic market? A short analysis of the situation is presented here.
Production facility for the manufacture of thin-film silicon solar cells, made in Switzerland (Oerikon Solar)
It is estimated that the global market volume for cleantech applications will have reached CHF 3.35 trillion by 2020. State-sponsored incentive programmes are increasing the demand for cleantech solutions. To give a few examples: the US government has allocated USD 11 billion of its economic stimulus package to the cleantech sector; the Chinese government will be allocating CHF 150 billion to cleantech over the next three years; and the EU has set aside CHF 15 billion to cleantech in its economic programme. The Cleantech Switzerland Export Platform was therefore established to help Swiss SMEs to break into cleantech export markets.

Switzerland well-positioned for export markets

Within the framework of the SCMP, the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research (ISI) analysed Swiss cleantech exports to determine how successful they were on the world cleantech market. As foreign trade statistics show, cleantech exports rose markedly between 1996 and 2008. However, they increased to a lesser extent than Swiss exports overall. On average, only about 15% of all Swiss exports during the period under review were cleantech-related. Switzerland’s share of world trade in cleantech between 1996 and 2008 declined to a greater extent than Switzerland’s overall share, from about 2.3% to 1.4%. Up until 2008, Swiss cleantech products enjoyed a slightly higher share of the world market than Swiss exports in general, an advantage which has since been lost.

Diagram 3: Switzerland’s share of world cleantech market (1996 -2008)
Source: Fraunhofer (ISI) calculations (2010)

Switzerland’s foreign trade position is particularly strong in energy storage, waste management and resource efficiency, environmental technologies and energy efficiency; export surpluses in these areas are significantly higher than in export goods overall.

Size of the domestic market

Before companies begin to export their products and services, they often introduce them onto the domestic market first. The environment in a company’s “home country” is a very significant factor in the development of innovations. On the one hand, general economic conditions influence the extent to which companies can be innovative. In Switzerland, these conditions are generally considered to be good.
At the same time, state regulations such as legal limits, bans, rulings and incentive systems may encourage or hinder innovation, especially in the cleantech sector. However, in Switzerland there is currently no overview of the applicable regulations, nor have impact studies been conducted thus far.

End Content Area

Full-text search

Weiterführende Informationen

Type: PDF

EBP Studie (german version)
03.08.2010 | 460 kb | PDF


Cleantech - Specialist staff
cleantech@sbfi.admin.ch | Legal framework
http://www.cleantech.admin.ch/maerkte/index.html?lang=en

Cleantech

La présente édition est conçue pour les navigateurs sans soutien CSS suffisant et s'adresse en priorité aux malvoyants. Tous les contenus peuvent également être visualisés à l'aide de navigateurs plus anciens. Pour une meilleure visualisation graphique, il est toutefois recommandé d'utiliser un navigateur plus moderne comme Mozilla 1,4 ou Internet Explorer 6.

Début sélection langue



Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Les marchés

A la conquête des marchés étrangers

Pour beaucoup d’entreprises cleantech, le marché suisse est trop petit. Elles doivent commercialiser leurs produits et leurs services au niveau mondial. Quels sont les marchés potentiels? Comment les biens cleantech se positionnent-ils à l’étranger? Quelle signification le marché intérieur prend-il? Analyse de la situation en bref.
Installation de production pour cellules solaires à couche mince en silicium, fabrication suisse. (Oerikon Solar)
Les parts de marché mondial pour les applications cleantech devraient représenter, selon les estimations, une somme de 3352 milliards de francs en 2020. Le gouvernement américain a par exemple mis 11 milliards de dollars US à la disposition du domaine des cleantech dans le cadre de ses mesures d’encouragement conjoncturelles. Le gouvernement chinois (150 milliards de francs pour les trois prochaines années) et les programmes conjoncturels européens (15 milliards de francs) allouent des montants considérables à des mesures d’encouragement dans le domaine des cleantech. La plate-forme Export «Cleantech Switzerland» a été mise en place afin d’aider les PME suisses à accéder aux marchés cleantech internationaux.

Marchés d’exportation: bonne position du commerce extérieur

Dans le cadre du Masterplan Cleantech, le Fraunhofer-lnstitut fur System- und Innovationsforschung (ISI) s’est intéressé à l’évolution des exportations cleantech et à la part qu’elles représentent dans le commerce mondial afin d’évaluer le succès de la commercialisation des produits cleantech suisses. Comme le montre la statistique relative au commerce extérieur, les exportations cleantech ont nettement augmenté entre 1996 et 2008, mais dans une moins large mesure que l’ensemble des exportations suisses. Durant la période prise en compte, près de 15 % en moyenne de l’ensemble des exportations suisses concernaient le domaine cleantech.

Entre 1996 et 2008, la part du commerce mondial revenant à la Suisse pour le domaine des cleantech a perdu beaucoup plus de terrain que celle de la Suisse en général : elle est passée de 2,3 % à 1,4 %. Jusqu’en 2008, le volume des biens cleantech dans le commerce mondial était légèrement plus élevé que celui de toutes les exportations suisses, mais il a, depuis, perdu cette avance.

Part du commerce mondial revenant à la Suisse en général et dans le domaine cleantech entre 1996 et 2008
Source: Calculs du Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung ISI (2010)

Dans les domaines du stockage de l’électricité, de la gestion des déchets et de l’efficacité des ressources, des technologies environnementales au sens strict et de l’efficacité énergétique, la Suisse enregistre des résultats très positifs au niveau du commerce extérieur: l’excédent des exportations y est nettement plus élevé que pour l’ensemble des biens.

Importance du marché intérieur

Avant d’exporter leurs produits et leurs services, les entreprises les introduisent souvent sur le marché intérieur. L’environnement dans le pays d’origine d’une entreprise joue un rôle central dans le développement des innovations. D’une part, les conditions générales économiques influent sur la capacité d’innovation des entreprises. Elles sont considérées comme appropriées en Suisse.
D’autre part, le domaine des cleantech est fortement soumis à des régulations étatiques (valeurs limites, interdictions, règles/lois, systèmes d’incitation) qui encouragent ou entravent de ce fait l’innovation. Une vue d’ensemble des régulations concernées et une analyse de leurs effets font pourtant défaut afin d’évaluer ces dispositions étatiques.

Fin secteur de contenu

Recherche plein texte

Informations complémentaires

Typ: PDF

Résumé étude EBP
03.08.2010 | 113 kb | PDF
Typ: PDF

Etude EBP (en allemand)
03.08.2010 | 460 kb | PDF


Cleantech - Contact spécialisé
cleantech@sbfi.admin.ch | Informations juridiques
http://www.cleantech.admin.ch/maerkte/index.html?lang=fr